
Getty Image
Wyndham Clark had the weekend of a lifetime as he won the US Open by a stroke over Rory McIlroy. It was the 29-year-old’s first major tournament win, and his second victory on the PGA Tour this season.
Some, however, are questioning whether or not Clark should’ve been penalized during the action on Sunday, which could’ve significantly impacted the final scoring.
The shot in question came on the back nine as he attempted to line up a play from the rough. As he placed his club in the tall grass behind the ball, some believe the ball actually moved.
We’ll let you be the judge.
Woahhhh??!?!
Wyndham not gonna get a penalty for this? @USGA pic.twitter.com/MAjgFkICNX
— Rickie Fowler Tracker (@Rickie_Tracker) June 18, 2023
According to the rulebook, if the ball changes position, a penalty is warranted.
Fans seem split on whether or not Wyndham Clark should’ve been assessed that punishment.
Ball moved
— Sam Eichel (@SamEichel1) June 18, 2023
One person wrote, “Stop. Nothing moved except your imagination,” while another said, “You’re grasping for straws.”
Someone else commented, “It clearly did a nudge.”
Many attempted to break down the rule, with this fan posting, “The ball merely oscillates, it doesn’t change position in the grass.”
While the act seems inconsequential enough, we’ve seen similar penalties handed down before.
Jon Rahm was assessed a two-stroke penalty for a violation of Rule 9.4 after a ball at rest moved.
His score on the par-3 16th has been adjusted from a 2 to a 4. pic.twitter.com/HWbIN2woTr
— PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) July 20, 2020
The USGA did not respond to the clip. Wyndham Clark won the US Open with a final score of -10.